#MFF2016 – The Adventure Begins!

Well any veteran  festival writer knows that the first step of the Milwaukee Film Festival process is to apply for their press credentials.  Okay, that’s not true… the first step is to squeal with delight and spaz out about every press release sent out by Milwaukee Film on Monday mornings.  That’s professional, right?  Well, whatever – let’s just say that when I see the name “Megan Benedict” (Milwaukee Film’s Communications & Press Manager) I get unnaturally giddy because I know there’s going to be another morsel about the upcoming festival.

SoonSo what was I saying?  Oh yeah something about professionalism or something.  Anyway, after some technical difficulties with my site I finally applied for my press credentials for what would be my 11th film festival (dating back to the old Milwaukee International Film Festival days).  I’ve watched a lot of films at the festival over the years (averaging somewhere in the 30’s) and wrote about all of them and am looking forward to doing it all again this year.  Especially since I already have a vacation scheduled shortly after the festival.  But I’ll reserve whining about how tired I am until I’m full bore into festival coverage.

Next step… program book release, or “Watch a grown woman giggle and salivate over the film choices until she realizes she can’t be in three places at once somehow and then falls into a depression.”  This sideshow should sell tickets.

Leave a comment